Everything related to http://resources.maxwellrender.com
By Bubbaloo
Hey, Ive searched the mxm's to download, but none are exactly what I need.
Can one of you material wizards help?
Here's the look I'm going for:

And here you can download the lego scene to test it with if you want:
http://www.divshare.com/download/2734191-408

Don't need the scratches necessarily, I just can't get it to "glow" like the real lego does. I'm not good with the sss!
Any help is much appreciated!
By tokiop
Hello Bulbaloo !

Interesting challenge ! :) I tried With dielectrics, but they get brighter and brighter after each SL...

Are you sure the geometry is closed? Your ground-plane looks vortex-like here... like Fernando says, it might be an invalid mxs

cheers !
By Bubbaloo
Oops, I saved this mxs with a test version of the Max plug-in.
I will resave tonight.
Thanks for trying, Fernando!
Tokiop, I'm fairly certain that the geometry is good.
You can use the standard mat test scene if you want.
I just can't get that glow. :cry:
By hyltom
Fernando material is definitely really convincing, but i feel there is something missing to match the original one. I'm speaking about this fluorescent green color that we can see in each small cylinder. How can we get this with maxwell? Also, there is no dark area, everything seem to glow, as Bubbaloo mentioned. I have tried a lot of setting today to get something but I totally fail. For me the additive mode is very interesting but impossible to control...can you share you thought and idea in order to get a closer material?

Bubbaloo, could it be possible to get more photo reference with a white paper under the part and no special lighting to see how this plastic react.
By hyltom
Finally, after many try, i can get this:

SL 9.35 in 9mn

SL 12 in 40mn
This picture is overexposed, i will increase the shutter speed to get a better lighting.