hide original geometry rendering instances

Everything related to the integration for Cinema 4D.
Post Reply
fv
Posts: 682
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 3:04 pm
Which 3D software do you use with Maxwell?: Cinema4D
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

hide original geometry rendering instances

Post by fv » Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:50 am

I work with Vectorworks and export to Cinema4D.
Is there a way a way to hide the original objects and have Maxwell still render the instances. It seems to me once originals are hidden Maxwell no longer sees the instances.

Help appreciated,
Cheers François
Architect at www.fillieverhoeven.nl
The Netherlands

JDHill
Posts: 9496
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 3:02 am
Which 3D software do you use with Maxwell?: Rhino
Location: desk #861

Re: hide original geometry rendering instances

Post by JDHill » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:56 pm

You cannot hide the source object (whether disabling it in Cinema, or enabling "Hide" on an Object Properties tag), but you can enable Hide from Camera/GI/etc (in an Object Properties tag), so I would try those and see if it is enough.

User avatar
Forum Moderator
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:23 am

Re: hide original geometry rendering instances

Post by Forum Moderator » Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:24 pm

Hello François,

We recently made some improvements (in v4.2.0.2) that allow for hiding the original.
You can make it work by adding an Object Properties tag (from Maxwell for Cinema group) and check "Hide" box. Probably Jeremy didn't know about this one.

We are aware this doesn't work in Fire yet, but it will in Maxwell.

I hope this helps,

Cheers!
Fernando

JDHill
Posts: 9496
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 3:02 am
Which 3D software do you use with Maxwell?: Rhino
Location: desk #861

Re: hide original geometry rendering instances

Post by JDHill » Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:28 pm

Indeed, I did not know that -- nice!

Eric Nixon 20170610100005
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 12:00 pm

Re: hide original geometry rendering instances

Post by Eric Nixon 20170610100005 » Sun Feb 18, 2018 1:17 am

I was tending to keep the original under a null with its texture on that null, so i can texture the instances seperately, but the hide tip is good too, Thnx.

fv
Posts: 682
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 3:04 pm
Which 3D software do you use with Maxwell?: Cinema4D
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: hide original geometry rendering instances

Post by fv » Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:29 pm

Tx for the advise.

The problem is that while modeling in C4D the original geometry is better hidden to avoid being distracted by it. Using Vectorworks the original geometry is exported to C4D centred in the C4D model. Think of all vectorworks symbols piled up in the centre of the total geometry and no quick way to hide them all out of sight and still have the instances rendered.
Looking forward to see the update 4.2
Cheers François
Architect at www.fillieverhoeven.nl
The Netherlands

Post Reply

Return to “Maxwell | Cinema 4D”