Page 1 of 1

Can Maxwell render Maya Fur, or can it only render Maya Hair

Posted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:36 am
by itsallgoode9
I thought Maxwell render was able to render Maya fur but in my tests, I have not been able to get it to happen. I was able to render maya hair though, so I'm thinking it can only do the hair and not the fur? If it is able to render fur, what am I doing wrong that I can't get it it to render?

Re: Can Maxwell render Maya Fur, or can it only render Maya

Posted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 11:04 am
by raduc
Unfortunately we cannot export maya fur to maxwell because the API does not give us all the required information.

Re: Can Maxwell render Maya Fur, or can it only render Maya

Posted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 11:35 am
by itsallgoode9
Gah! That's a bummer. I spent a couple hrs setting up fur before I realized that! Oh well, it's not your guys' fault. Thanks for the info.

If I could give a suggestion, in the documentation for maxwell's fur rendering, it would be good to specify that it can't do maya fur. Since hair and fur seem like they should be the same to the uninitiated (like me) it took me a while to figure out that they aren't the same thing and one works with maxwell but te other doesn't.