Page 1 of 1

Instancing lights?

Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 8:06 pm
by oz42
The instancing feature of the Maxwell plugin for XSI is superb and it saves me a lot of time and memory but recently I have been having problems with instancing models that contain an emitter.

If I create a model of a chair and instance it many times everything is fine. If I create a light fitting with the bulb having an emitter material then when I instance it and try to render the scene, XSI exports the model to mxcl and then mxcl instantly crashes. If I duplicate (copy) the models of the light fittings, instead of instancing, everything is fine.

Is this a bug or is it impossible to instance lights (emitters) due to the way Maxwell works? (i.e. it would conflict with MultiLight?)

Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 12:31 am
by Bogdan Coroi
Using lights as instances is not supported yet by the renderer.

Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 3:38 am
by Mihai
Wouldn't it be just as good to clone the objects in XSI? If your object geometry is not 100 000 polys and more, instancing isn't really needed.