Not there yet? Post your work in progress here to receive feedback from the users.
By Mike Amos 20200607151930
G'day,
Still trying to get my head around the whole rendering with Maxwell thing but not sure where I am going wrong apart from everywhere. Any pointers?

This is not exactly going long, about four hours but wanted to get some idea where I am so I can improve. HDRI obviously.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
By Mark Bell
I'm no expert here but have had similar trial and error attempts as I improve. Some tips I've found help with the realism:
1. check the properties section of the HDRI image and sometimes it shows the camera settings used to create the photo. Replicate these in Maxwell,
2. to me, the DOF on the right side of the render looking through to the outdoors seems a bit out of focus? - look at your DOF/camera settings in Maxwell to adjust to match,
3. you can always add a couple of invisible emitters inside for subtle lighting and use multilight so you can have them on/off as needed,
4. use real world values with the camera settings. I've found the render can show a lot more subtle detail towards the 'end' or higher SL., from memory it was around SL 18/20+ then it started to look more like a photo than a render. You can always reduce the overall resolution of the render during test renders so it's quicker, then up the resolution for the final render.
By luis.hijarrubia
To make it faster: Don't illuminate from outside through a glass if you are doing so. You can use ags (fake glass, very cheap) and add emitter on that same glass that only affects illuminations, hidden to camera. This way, your emitters will be inside the room, not having to go through a glass all the time.
By Forum Moderator
Hello Mike,