Not there yet? Post your work in progress here to receive feedback from the users.
By MikeT
Hi Everyone,
Here is a WIP of an airplane I’m modeling. I’m just getting started with Maxwell so lots of “learning curve” to go.

Comments welcomed!

Mike
Last edited by MikeT on Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:35 am, edited 4 times in total.
By MikeT
I’m using Alias for the modeling. The model still needs work – the canopy is black because there is no interior :) Also, need to try motion blur to add propeller blur.
By MikeT

In the airplane render, I used the free HDRI-Locations spherical HDR associated with the above backplate. With smoother paint and longer render times, the road and the grass show up as reflections on the side of the plane. So obviously, the HDR environment is wrong for a plane in-flight.

Ideally, I would use a spherical HDR that was somehow created from in-flight photos but I haven't found any yet at various HDR vendors. I was thinking it might be possible to simulate an in-flight sky spherical HDR by trimming a ground based HDR at the horizon line and then copying/flipping the sky and using it in place of the ground as the lower half of the sphere. I'm not sure how to do it or if it would even work! Does anyone have some ideas on how to do this or if it would even work?

Thanks,
Mike
By eric nixon
Search for 'guilford grammar aerial', but you will need to desaturate and adjust the gamma + tiny blur to improve its dynamic range (fairly low)
By MikeT
Hi Eric,
Thanks for the info/link above. Feeling kind of dumb on this... I don't think I searched for "aerial" spherical HDRs! I did find some HDRs and other info that will help.
Mike
By MikeT
Had to stop working on this for a while... finally getting back to it.

I'm playing around with the learning edition of Real Flow and trying to make clouds with particle files. Having some luck but need to experiment some more. Hopefully will have some test renders soon.