Page 1 of 1

Maxwell option in display-Object 360 !!

Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2020 1:43 pm
by Brian Buxton
The Maxwell option for Display/Object 360 does not work rendering only a single frame.

Re: Maxwell option in display-Object 360 !!

Posted: Fri Oct 30, 2020 10:16 am
by Brian Buxton
Normals don't render correctly from FormZ either. No smoothing, so my organic shapes look like badly folded origami, once the noise clears up enough to see polygon edges. Maxwell Studio has a button to recalculate normals, it seems the formZ plugin in STILL unfinished/incomplete.

Re: Maxwell option in display-Object 360 !!

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2020 10:37 pm
by Andreas Hopf
Without images, hard to say, but when I import "rogue" OBJ files - before hitting that Recalc button, one needs to enter the desired Smoothing angle value first.

But then, I am not a form-Z user.

Re: Maxwell option in display-Object 360 !!

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2020 4:35 pm
by Brian Buxton
This is with native formZ geometry. There does not appear to be a recalc normals in the formZ plugin.

Re: Maxwell option in display-Object 360 !!

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2020 10:47 pm
by Andreas Hopf
I see. I'm using Studio as I have to integrate CAD data from various applications, also many for which no plug-in exists.

Re: Maxwell option in display-Object 360 !!

Posted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 12:48 pm
by Brian Buxton
Yes the FormZ plugin needs Studio to fall back on. Infuriating that Nextlimit changed the licensing to paying for each plugin and for studio separately.
The formZ plugin is basically USLESS for curved surfaces (issues with normals) and does not work with the object 360 renderer.

Re: Maxwell option in display-Object 360 !!

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 1:12 pm
by Forum Moderator
Hello,

Regarding “Maxwell Option in display-object 360”: the formZ SDK is not working correctly for Generate Object 360, so we can not support this feature. We have written to the formZ developers asking that it be fixed, or the Maxwell be removed from the pulldown menu.

Regarding the Normals issue, could you please send a file to us that reproduces the issue? Also, a screenshot would be welcomed. It could be the typical shadow terminator issue (at the edge between illuminated and in-shadow areas: https://blender.stackexchange.com/quest ... cts-issues) or a true facetting problem. You can send a download link in a private message to me, if you prefer.

Kind regards,
Fernando

Re: Maxwell option in display-Object 360 !!

Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2020 12:51 pm
by Brian Buxton
Forum Moderator wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 1:12 pm
Hello,

Regarding “Maxwell Option in display-object 360”: the formZ SDK is not working correctly for Generate Object 360, so we can not support this feature. We have written to the formZ developers asking that it be fixed, or the Maxwell be removed from the pulldown menu.

Regarding the Normals issue, could you please send a file to us that reproduces the issue? Also, a screenshot would be welcomed. It could be the typical shadow terminator issue (at the edge between illuminated and in-shadow areas: https://blender.stackexchange.com/quest ... cts-issues) or a true facetting problem. You can send a download link in a private message to me, if you prefer.

Kind regards,
Fernando
Sorry for the delay responding to this. The artifacts are not where the shadow terminates but rather across the entire surface. it can be hidden or partially resolved by changing the object tesselation in the formZ object attributes (inspector panel). it is easy to reproduce with a simple revolve or swept profile. The appearance is as if phong shading has been set to 0 deg in other applications or as if points are not welded.

Re: Maxwell option in display-Object 360 !!

Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2020 2:33 pm
by Forum Moderator
Hello Brian,

Here Maxwell seems to react correctly to the different smoothing options offered by FormZ when changing thing in the inspector panel. It would be interesting to see your settings in this panel in the Attributes tab > Resolution and Smooth Shaded sections as well as the Parameters tab.

Best,
Fernando

Re: Maxwell option in display-Object 360 !!

Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2020 3:45 pm
by Brian Buxton
Forum Moderator wrote:
Tue Dec 15, 2020 2:33 pm
Hello Brian,

Here Maxwell seems to react correctly to the different smoothing options offered by FormZ when changing thing in the inspector panel. It would be interesting to see your settings in this panel in the Attributes tab > Resolution and Smooth Shaded sections as well as the Parameters tab.

Best,
Fernando
hello Fernando
Sorry, I posted too soon the artefacts are still there. The smooth shading settings are FormZ default and do not cause artefacts when the same object was rendered in formZ Renderzone. The Mesh resolution is just simple recommended default. Smooth shading is also left at the default settings. Exporting the CAD file as Step and rendering in Cinema 4D renders perfectly in Standard, Physical, Redshift and VRay. In Maxwell Studio version 4 there are no artefacts with this geometry but if there was I could recalculate Normals and fix it. I don't have Maxwell 4 for FormZ, if I did I would be using that instead of version 5.1.
Just to be clear - The file renders fine in version 4 but has shading artefacts in version 5.1