AE Plugin for CC 2017 ?

Everything related to the plugin for AfterEffects.
Post Reply
jfrancis
Posts: 1259
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:19 am
Which 3D software do you use with Maxwell?: Maya
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

AE Plugin for CC 2017 ?

Post by jfrancis » Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:34 am

I have a bunch of old .mxi files I'd like to work with in After Effects 2017.

Will this be possible?

User avatar
Brany
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 4:52 pm
Which 3D software do you use with Maxwell?: Maxwell Studio

Re: AE Plugin for CC 2017 ?

Post by Brany » Thu Jan 12, 2017 2:47 pm

Windows or Mac OS?
Next Limit Team

User avatar
Brany
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 4:52 pm
Which 3D software do you use with Maxwell?: Maxwell Studio

Re: AE Plugin for CC 2017 ?

Post by Brany » Thu Jan 12, 2017 3:15 pm

I can say that you can install the After Effects CC 2015 plug-in on the 2017 version of AE, and it works (tested on windows)

http://imgur.com/cXH5frP
Next Limit Team

Nasok
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:33 am
Which 3D software do you use with Maxwell?: Maya
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: AE Plugin for CC 2017 ?

Post by Nasok » Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:04 am

How about Mac OS ? will there be a version that installs on Macs ?

User avatar
Brany
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 4:52 pm
Which 3D software do you use with Maxwell?: Maxwell Studio

Re: AE Plugin for CC 2017 ?

Post by Brany » Mon Jun 19, 2017 1:10 pm

The plug-in for OSX is currently discontinued. It seems that there are not enough users in OSX for it. The last version is for Maxwell 3. Do you use it frequently?

Nasok
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:33 am
Which 3D software do you use with Maxwell?: Maya
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: AE Plugin for CC 2017 ?

Post by Nasok » Tue Jun 20, 2017 4:30 am

Well .. what are the difference between OSX After effects users and Windows after effects users ?

It is the same software .. I do. I used it mainly for simplicity of channel extract, and generally was more convenient, altho pretty buggy.

But what about Photoshop ? also discontinued ? That would be so ridiculous.

User avatar
Brany
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 4:52 pm
Which 3D software do you use with Maxwell?: Maxwell Studio

Re: AE Plugin for CC 2017 ?

Post by Brany » Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:46 am

Photoshop for OSX is still supported. Take into account that both plug-ins are for free. The photoshop one is easy to maintain, but the After Effects one not (not easy for OSX, but is pretty easy for Windows).

You are the first user asking about the After Effects plug-in for OSX since we released Maxwell 4, so please understand that we can't give resources to a free plug-in with a really low usage. Anyway, we will try to spend some time on this, but we can't promise anything!

Nasok
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:33 am
Which 3D software do you use with Maxwell?: Maya
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: AE Plugin for CC 2017 ?

Post by Nasok » Tue Jun 27, 2017 12:13 pm

Sure, I understand. I guess you're right. Photoshop plugin is more relevant to what Maxwell is designed for. But seems like there is no OSX plugin for photoshop in dropdown menu in my portal.

Thanks.

User avatar
Brany
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 4:52 pm
Which 3D software do you use with Maxwell?: Maxwell Studio

Re: AE Plugin for CC 2017 ?

Post by Brany » Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:45 pm

It must be there. That is what I see:

http://imgur.com/a/02s3S

Nasok
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:33 am
Which 3D software do you use with Maxwell?: Maya
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: AE Plugin for CC 2017 ?

Post by Nasok » Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:33 am

oh, my bad :) I swear it wasn't there a few weeks ago :) oh well .. maybe I just need a bit more sleep :)))

Thanks.

Post Reply

Return to “Maxwell | AfterEffects”