Everything related to Studio.
By James Owen
I am a long time user of Sketchup, but I'm new to Maxwell. I am using Sketchup Pro '16 and Maxwell Studio 4. I can not seem to find the right workflow to export from SU and import to MS. I have exported using each 3d file type from SU, but have not been able to import the model so that I can assign a material to individual model surfaces. It seems that I should be able to explode the MS object like a SU group or component. I have tried leaving groups and components intact and all exploded before creating the SU export file.
Hopefully this is just a lack of experience on my part and not a software compatibility problem. I purchased Studio and not the SU plug-in so that I wouldn't have to keep upgrading both programs together. Also,I like the flexibility of the stand alone Studio.
Any advice or leads would be greatly appreciated!
James
By Mihai
I think the easiest way is to first apply dummy materials to your component and/or faces and then export as FBX. In Studio this FBX will be imported as one object, but with triangle selections already created for the individual faces that had a material applied.

You will see these triangle groups if you select the object and in the Attributes panel, under the "Geometry" tab you will see the different groups and you can apply separate materials to these individual triangle groups by drag and dropping a material from the material list, over the name of the triangle group. There is no way to explode an object in Studio so it has separate polygons, you need to go via triangle groups to apply a material to a certain set of faces.

I'm mentioning this just in case: it's best to apply as much as possible materials to an entire component in Sketchup and not to individual faces unless that's necessary.
By seghier
i always have problem when export skp file if the model have groups and components but you can try to export to 3ds .