By Elle83
Hello!
I'm quite new to Maxwell Render and it's my very first time in a render competiton.
The first thing that came to my mind when I read the terms for the competition was a modelmaker's studio at Christmas eve... the Eiffel tower will be the main focus of the scene but there will be other iconic monuments/design objects scattered around the place to make it more interesting.
I've used some models found in the sketchup warehouse, but for the tower i'm building my own using a face-only model found on the net, as i'm trying to get the look of a laser cut balsa model.
I'm almost done setting the model (everything but the tower, which is 60% complete), but i'm still trying to figure out right setting for the camera and the light fittings... i've made some trial rendering and they turn up quite nicely, but I think I'm still not there.
Hopefully I'll be able to post some sneak peek soon.
Good luck everybody!
Elisa
Ok... here's some WIP. I'm using Sketchup 2013 and the latest free version of Maxwell for Sketchup

The first image is the very first render I tried to do for the scene. Lots of elements missing here, wrong light/camera settings etc...
Uploaded with ImageShack.us

This is were I am now... many hours later... still not there but I wanted to check the results.

Least but not last the wireframe scene directly from sketchup.

Now... things I don't like/I'd like some advice for:
- noise. the SL for the render was 22 when I stopped it and saved it, but there's still a lot of noise and I've started to wonder if it will ever go away. I must admit I used some scattering in the simulens values but I'm not sure that this is the result of that (EV is 6 and, beside the "tree" lights there is the desk lamp and a suspended lamp with fluorescent lights with low wattage and efficacy)