End date: May 13
By novena
hi there!
I have just registered on this competition. I am a Maxwell standalone plugin for Sketchup user and I have never used Maxwell Render Suite before so this will be a big challenge...

After reading all threads (or almost all them) I have to agree with Jason Maranto: architectural stuff is not a good fit for these HDRs. Looking for some inspiration, so I found as my main inspiration the images from easter/holy week (semana santa marinera):

there is my second big challenge, I'm not a character modeller (just a simple arch vis guy)... I will try using Sketchup and Blender as 3D tools (and probably will die in the attempt)...
HDRI image # 1 seems to be the one that fits best the idea I have in my mind...

a quick hand-made-sketch
By Mihai
Hi Victor, and welcome! Installing the Render Suite doesn't mean also installing the RS version of the Sketchup plugin, so you can keep using your current standalone plugin, export the MXS and open that in Maxwell Studio if you need to work on it further, or just start Maxwell.exe and open the MXS to render at a higher resolution. But you have to license Maxwell to do this - your standalone Sketchup plugin license is not the same.

You can find licensing instructions here:
http://support.nextlimit.com/display/ma ... /Licensing
By novena
hi guys!
I started with my first big challenge: modelling the characters, so I have been working with the hood and after several attempts it came something decent...
raw renders straight from sketchup and Maxwell standalone plugin to check the geometry:

best
V

p.s. I apologize for nudity... :lol:
By novena
hi guys!
I've been trying to rig my 'cofrade' character and worked a bit with clothing (that hood seems made of paper :oops: ), then wanted to test a render and this came out of sketchup and Maxwell standalone plugin (slight corrections with lightroom), image just for fun...
would love to know your opinion
V

no photos please!!!
By dariolanza