By BradT
I'm brand new to Maxwell. I'm in the process of deploying it on our render farm for the first time. I want to use progressive rendering.

I've figured out how to export .mxs files from 3ds max, but I'm getting a rate of 4 mxs files exported per minute. For a 2400 frame animation, that's 10 hours and locks up a 3ds Max seat. Is there a faster way? Can the export task be submitted to the render farm? Am I missing something?

Thanks!
If you have 3dsmax installed on the render farm machines, you can submit the max scene and do a command line render of each frame. That will distribute the export process too, and in your case add about 15 seconds to the render time of each frame, which is negligible.
By BradT
Thanks for the replies!

We've been using Backburner here for the past 15 years, but I'm experimenting with using Maxwell's network system now. So far, it's not working very well at all. The feature that sold us on Maxwell was the progressive render ability. The ability to send an animation to the farm, and get back a grainy version immediately is seen as a huge time-saver, even though achieving final render quality would take longer. Machine time = cheap, human time = expensive.

I'm not sure how to submit an export-only job, without the rendering, to either Maxwell network or backburner. Is that possible?

I assumed that doing a progressive render, where nodes dump an EXR or PNG every X sample levels, then move on to the next frame, looping back for more and more refinement, was only possible with Maxwell's render system. Am I wrong? Can this be done with Backburner?

I have discovered that using maxwell reference geometry for static objects speeds up the MXS export tremendously, but that does add additional work for the animator.