Page 1 of 1

BUG: Changes to material settings in MXED lost

Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2014 1:07 pm
by gmenzel
(using current beta plugin 3.1.2 with Maxwell 3.0.99.3)

When clicking the save button (little disk icon) in MXED to return to the 3dsmax material editor, no changes are applied when the material had been saved as an .mxm while in MXED.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Create MaxwellMaterial in 3dsmax material editor
2. Click 'MXED...' to edit material in MXED
3. In MXED, save the material as an .mxm
4. Still in MXED, change some material settings
5. Click the disk icon to return to 3dsmax

No changes to material settings have been applied. All changes since saving of the .mxm are lost.

Re: BUG: Changes to material settings in MXED lost

Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 10:13 am
by Mihnea Balta
This is not really a bug. What happens is this:

1. When you click "MXED", the plug-in exports a temporary MXM file and launches MXED with it.
2. When you do "save as", you tell MXED to use a new file path from now on.
3. When you click the disk button, MXED saves the changes to the new file path and closes.
4. The plug-in notices that MXED has terminated and re-imports the temporary file, expecting the changes to be there. However, they're not, because you saved the material under a different name. The original values are loaded instead because the temporary MXM is unchanged.

I'll talk to the MXED developer and ask him to report back the current file name when the program closes, so the Max plug-in can load the correct file.

Re: BUG: Changes to material settings in MXED lost

Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:21 pm
by gmenzel
Mihnea Balta wrote:I'll talk to the MXED developer and ask him to report back the current file name when the program closes, so the Max plug-in can load the correct file.
I think that would be a good solution. Thank you!

Re: BUG: Changes to material settings in MXED lost

Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:59 pm
by Fernando Tella
I sometimes do like that to save a darker, lighter, more shiny or whatever version of the current material so I don't want it to read back that version (more commonly I want it to be read back but sometimes don't). Maybe we need an option to "save a copy" or something similar.